Services / Departments

Clerk of the Courts
Accounting and Financial Reporting
Civil Services
Compliance & Internal Audit
Criminal Services
Information Technology
Jury Management
Juvenile Services
Marriage License Services
Official Records
Payables/Receivables
Payroll & Central Services
Probate Services
Tax Deed Sales
Traffic Services
Value Adjustment Board

Services / Departments

Services available in the Probate Division (Room 102-Courthouse)


Injunctions for Protection Orders

The Clerk of Courts provides clerical processing assistance to individuals seeking to file an injunction for protection. A Petition can be filed by anyone who is a victim of violence or has reasonable cause to believe he or she is in imminent danger of becoming the victim of any act of violence. You must provide identification and be at least 18 years of age to file a petition for injunction. If you are under the age of eighteen and have never been married or had the disability of nonage removed by a court, one of your parents or your legal guardian must sign the petition on your behalf. There is no fee required to file a Petition for Injunction in the State of Florida.

IF YOU FEEL YOU ARE IN IMMINENT DANGER OF VIOLENCE you should contact your local law enforcement agency.

IMMEDIATE EMERGENCIES: 911

Highlands County Sheriff’s Office (863) 402-7200


ABUSE OUTREACH & ADVOCACY SHELTERS

Domestic Violence Shelter 

Highlands County Safe House 

(863) 386 -1167 (24 hours)


Highlands County Sheriff’s Office

Victim Advocate Services

(863) 402-7329


Florida Department of Children & Families 

Florida Abuse Hotline

(800) 962-22873


A petition may be filed in the county where you currently or temporarily reside, where the person whom you are filing against resides or where the violence occurred.

A petition is filed by an individual against an individual. A petition may not be filed by or against a group of individuals or an entity (such as a business).

You must provide the first and last name of the person you are filing against.

   

If you are filing against a minor (under 18 years of age) you must provide the first and last name of the minor child against whom you are filing as well as the first and last name of that minor’s parent or legal guardian.

You must provide a specific summary of any recent violence of stalking that the person whom you are filing against has committed against you. If you use general terms such as “violence” and “threats” you should include a description of the acts committed and/or words, used.

Copies of supporting documentation, such as police reports, other court orders may be submitted.

You must provide the location of the person you are filing against and as much information about the person as you can so the Sheriff’s Office can serve (hand deliver) certified copies of your petition, the judge’s order and court hearing date, if scheduled.

If the person you are filing against lives out of the State of Florida, you will need to provide the county sheriff’s info of where that person resides. You must provide all information and any “fees” that sheriff’s office requires to have the person you are filing against served (hand deliver) certified copies of your petition, the judge’s order and court hearing date, if scheduled.




Next >>>





Robert W. Germaine, Clerk of Courts

Probate Division

590 South Commerce Avenue

Sebring, Florida 33870