Services / Departments

Clerk of the Courts
Accounting and Finance
Child Support
Civil Services
Compliance & Internal Audit
Criminal Services
Human Resources
Information Technology
Jury Management
Juvenile Services
Marriage License Services
Official Records
Payroll & Central Services
Pro Se'/Law Library
Probate Services
Tax Deeds
Traffic Services
Value Adjustment Board

Services / Departments

Jury Management

How was my name selected for jury service?

You were selected at random from the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles database of licensed drivers and holders of a Florida Identification Card in Highlands County.

Who is eligible for jury service?

A person is qualified if 18 years of age or older, a citizen of the United States, a legal resident of the State of Florida and a current resident of Highlands County.

Can I be excused from jury duty?

A person can be excused for the following reasons:

  • Served within one year.
  • Expectant mother, OR parent not employed full time who has custody of a child under 6 years of age.
  • Person 70 years of age or older.
  • Full time law enforcement or investigative personnel.
  • Practicing attorney or physician (at discretion of court).
  • Medical impairment (attach doctor's statement).
  • Responsible for the care of someone who is mentally or physically incapable of caring for him/herself (attach doctor's statement).

NOTE: A person is not eligible for jury duty for the following reasons: Under prosecution (felony). Convicted felon, civil rights not restored. No longer reside in county. Declared incompetent by Court of Law.

Where do I report for jury duty?

Jury trials are held the second full week of each month. Your summons will show the place, date and time of service.

Please call (863) 402-6766 or (863) 402-6767 after 5:00 P.M. the day before you are to report.

How long will I have to serve as a juror?

Florida law provides for a one day / one trial term of service. Therefore, if on the first day of service you are not selected you will be released from further attendance, unless otherwise instructed by the judge. You should not be summoned again for jury duty for at least one year.

Will I be paid to serve as a juror?

Pursuant to Chapter 40.24, Florida Statutes, jurors who are regularly employed and who continue to receive regular wages while serving as a juror are not entitled to receive compensation from the State for the first three (3) days of juror service. Jurors who are not regularly employed or who do not continue to receive regular wages while serving as a juror are entitled to receive $15.00 per day for the first three (3) days of juror service. All jurors that serve more than three (3) days will be paid $30.00 per day for the fourth day of service and each day thereafter, regardless of employment status.

How should I dress for jury duty?

Please dress conservatively. Do not wear shorts, tank tops or flip flops. Courtrooms are air-conditioned. You may wish to bring a sweater or jacket. Pocket knives, scissors or other sharp instruments are not permitted in the courthouse.

Where can I get additional information?

If you would like to speak to someone about jury service, call (863) 402-6567.